Fir Cones

I think I could be slightly obsessed with fir cones; those incredible, structured patterns, their differing shapes and the way they open silently in a warm room to release those lace-winged seeds. My sister, who is a mathematician, says they please me because they obey the wondrous laws of the Fibonacci Sequence. They do, but I think there’s more to it than that. There are so many of them from so many different countries and every time I look at mine I’m reminded of happy times in the USA, Italy, Scotland and the south west of France. These are just a few of my hoard, displayed in a shaped wooden bowl which belonged to my late mother-in-law.

Fir cones and pine cones

Leave a Reply

